Button to scroll to the top of the page.

The College of Natural Sciences Hall of Honor Awards are given annually to individuals who have distinguished themselves professionally and through demonstrated interest in the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin. There are three categories of awards:


Emerging Leader Award
Distinguished Alumni Award
Distinguished Service Award

Emerging Leader* & Distinguished Alumni Awards

Begun in 2014, these awards honor alumni who, in deed or action, reflect and recognize the importance of their education at The University, who demonstrate pride, and whose interest and loyalty to The University and the College are evident.

Specific criteria used during the selection process include 1) contributions to their profession and recognitions from contemporaries, 2) a person of such integrity and demonstrated ability and stature that the faculty, staff, students and fellow alumni of the College will take pride in and be inspired by their recognition.

*Emerging Leader nominees must be under or around the age of 40 to qualify.


Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes a member of the alumni or friend community whose extraordinary service has advanced the College of Natural Sciences and made significant and lasting contributions to the College. This honoree’s professional, personal, civic, and philanthropic pursuits reflect the high standards and values associated with The University of Texas at Austin and higher education.

Specific selection criteria include: 1) candidate has displayed exceptional interest, dedication and/or service to the College, 2) candidate’s dedication and commitment has significantly enriched the substance and contributed to the reputation of the College. This award will be given only in years when a deserving recipient is identified.


Please note that there will not be a set number of individuals who will be recognized each year. The number of individuals selected will be based on the number and quality of nominations. No more than five awards will be recognized each year. Nominations will remain in a candidate pool indefinitely and nomination materials may be renewed on a rolling basis.


For additional information please contact Monika Goldschmidt at monika.goldschmidt@utexas.edu.