Button to scroll to the top of the page.

This award symbolizes UT Austin's commitment to teaching excellence and provides the means to recognize and reward an outstanding tenured or tenure-track teacher from the Colleges of Liberal Arts and Natural Sciences. The person selected should demonstrate a warmth of spirit, a concern for society and for the individual, and the ability to impart knowledge while challenging his/her students to independent inquiry and creative thought, as well as a respect for the understanding of the permanent values of our culture. A committee of 5 faculty members and 10 students review the nominees submitted and make a final selection. Cash honorarium. Award is handled by Liberal Arts and Natural Sciences.

  • 1972 Stephen A. Monti (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1976 James W. Vick (Mathematics)
  • 1980 Peter A. Tomas (Mathematics)
  • 1989 Alan Campion (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1992 Melvin E. L. Oakes (Physics)
  • 1993 David A. Laude (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1995 Michael P. Starbird (Mathematics)
  • 1996 Raymond E. Davis (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1998 John M. (Mike) White (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1999 Eric Anslyn (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 2001 Brent Iverson (Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • 2006 Arturo De Lozanne (Biological Sciences)
  • 2008 Austin M. Gleeson (Department of Physics)
  • 2009 Alan Cline (Computer Science)
  • 2010 John Wallingford (MCDB)
  • 2011 Sheldon Ekland-Olson (Human Ecology)
  • 2013 Calvin Lin (Computer Science)
  • 2019 Nace Golding (Neuroscience)
  • 2021 Amanda Hagar (Mathematics)

Nomination dates and a complete list of awardees