Button to scroll to the top of the page.

The Friar Society was established in 1911. It is the oldest and one of the most distinguished multi-disciplinary honor societies at The University. A selection committee made up of society members annually reviews faculty and recommends a recipient to the Provost for his approval. This award recognizes a faculty member who, first and foremost, has attained distinction in teaching undergraduates; and second, who embodies the Friar ideal in having made a significant contribution to The University of Texas at Austin beyond the duties of her or his calling. Cash honorarium.

CNS recipients include:

  • 1994 Brent Iverson (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1997 David Laude (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • 1998 Charles Chiu (Physics)
  • 2000 Michael Starbird (Mathematics)
  • 2012 James Vick (Mathematics)
  • 2013 Sheldon Ekland-Olson (Human Ecology)

Nomination dates and a complete list of awardees