Button to scroll to the top of the page.
All books, including scholarly monographs, creative works (e.g., novels and anthologies of poetry), exhibition catalogues, textbooks, and edited collections published during the 2000-2001 academic year by University of Texas faculty and research staff are eligible to compete for the Robert W. Hamilton Faculty Author Awards. Books that were considered in the previous competition are no longer eligible, regardless of publication date. Five awards will be made: the grand prize winner will receive $10,000; the three runners-up will each receive $3,000. A fourth prize of $3,000 will be reserved for a textbook. The University Coop Board hopes that these awards will be an important incentive for UT authors, including young faculty members on the tenure-track.

CNS recipients include:
  • 1998 Dee Silverthorn (Neurobiology) Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach, Prentice Hall
  • 2000 Nell B. Dale (Computer Sciences) C++ Plus Data Structures, Jones and Bartlett Publishers
  • 2001 Robert Dudley (Integrative Biology) The Biomechanics of Insect Flight: Form, Function, Evolution, Princeton University Press.
  • 2001 Michael Starbird (Math) The Heart of Mathematics: an Invitation to Effective Thinking, Key College Publishing Company.
  • 2001 John Wheeler (Astronomy) Cosmic Catstrophes: Supernovae, Gamma-ray Bursts, and Adventures in Hyperspace, Cambridge University Press.
  • 2005: Eric R. Pianka (Integrative Biology) Lizards: Windows to the Evolution of Diversity.
Nomination dates and a complete list of awardees